Except in Belarus. And wherever else we feel like putting them. Whenever we feel like it. UPDATE*: Or at least as long as we are actually someone pretending to be us.
(Thanks to Michael Estes for the tip...)
*UPDATE: Marc Slemko suggests, for several sophisticated reasons, that the whole "Google Belarus" page is probably a fake. Don't I feel like a moron.
Oops.
- Stuart
Posted by: Stuart MacDonald | January 03, 2006 at 04:27 PM
I don't think that is an actual Google site, just someone pretending, in order to get folks to click on their sites.
Just a few of the reasons:
1. nameservers are dns3.pchighway.com and dns4.pchighway.com, not Google's nameservers.
2. the ads on the front page do not have click tracking URLs, so they are not actual Google PPC ads.
3. the nameservers referenced in (1) are also the same nameservers as used by eflora.by, which is one of the ads I see on the front page.
4. If you go to a URL such as http://www.google.by/notfound you do not get a normal Google error message, it is just the default Apache 404 page.
I wouldn't expect it to be up too long once Google's legal team gets going on it.
Posted by: Marc Slemko | January 03, 2006 at 06:24 PM
Marc: Very interesting. Thanks.
Posted by: Henry Blodget | January 03, 2006 at 06:43 PM